STRASBOURG OBSERVATORY COUNCIL MEMBERS

A. HECK & CH. BRUNEAU Observatoire Astronomique 11, rue de l'Université F-67000 Strasbourg, France heck@astro.u-strasbg.fr chantal@newb6.u-strasbg.fr

Abstract. The following note details, for the period 1969-2000, the elected members of the successive councils for Strasbourg Astronomical Observatory.

After the 1968 events that rocked European universities, the by-laws regulating French research institutions such as the observatories underwent several changes. Directors in particular were no more nominated in their position for the rest of their active life, but elected for limited terms. They became also answerable to a Council essentially made of elected members.

Table 1 gathers together, to the best of what could be extracted from the Observatory archives, the elected members of Strasbourg Observatory Council along the years (1969 to 2000).

The terms have been of three or four years, depending of the statutes ruling the place at the time. The 1982-1986 term has been extended pending the adoption of a decree organizing things anew. Some partial elections and replacements for various reasons¹ interfered with the general rythm.

For the sake of simplification, representatives of external organizations² (CNRS, INSU, Regional Council, etc.) as well as *de jure* members (such as the Directors when not elected members) have not been included.

The council under consideration is the official "Conseil d'U.E.R.³" (or equivalent) to which a fuzzy Observatory scientific council has sometimes

¹Essentially resignation, change of electoral body, end of student status,

²Representatives from external scientific bodies would often change from one meeting to the next. Those from local political bodies rarely showed up more than once ...

 $^{^{3}}U.E.R. = Unit\acute{e}$, in other words, the lab.

been amalgamated. The members of this latter council have however not been included either. Occasional invited attendees have been disregarded too.

Table 1 is followed by an alphabetical list.

TABLE 1. Strasbourg Observatory Council members.

	soding observatory counter members.
1969-1971	
Bru, P.	Leher, B.
Florsch, A.	Schmitt, A.
Huss, J.	Traut, B.
Lacroute, P.	
1971-1973	
Fehrenbach, Ch.	Leher, B.
Florsch, A.	Traut, B.
Jung, J.	Valbousquet, A.
Lacroute, P.	
1973-1976	
Delhaye, J.	Jung, J.
Dubois, P.	Leher, B.
Fehrenbach, Ch.	Ochsenbein, Fr.
Florsch, A.	Traut, B.
1976-1979	
Delhaye, J.	Fresneau, A.
Egret, D.	Jaschek, C.
Fehrenbach, Ch.	Traut, B.
Florsch, A.	Wenger, M.
1979-1982	
Acker, A.	Florsch, A.
Bruneau, Ch.	Jaschek, C.
Delhaye, J.	Ochsenbein, Fr.
Fehrenbach, Ch.	Traut, B.
1982-1986/7	
Delhaye, J.	Halbwachs, J.L.
Dubois, P.	Jaschek, M.
Fehrenbach, Ch.	Marcout, J.
Florsch, A.	Wagner, M.J.

1987-1991	
Baglin, A.	Hamm, M./Marcout, J.
Didelon, P.	Hartley, J./Mischler, V./Becht, I.
Dubois, P.	Heck, A.
Egret, D./Jasniewicz, G.	Jaschek, M.
Fresneau, A./Florsch, A.	Kovalevsky, J.
Halbwachs, J.L.	Wenger, M.
1991-1995	
Acker, A.	Halbwachs, J.L.
Bonnarel, Fr.	Jasniewicz, G.
Bruneau, Ch.	Kovalevsky, J.
Colin-Souffrin, S.	Lery, Th./Lesteven, S./Lejeune, Th.
Dubois, P./Motch, Chr.	Marcout, J.
Egret, D.	Ochsenbein, Fr.
1995-1999	
Bartlett, J.	Jasniewicz, G.
Blanchard, A.	Lançon, A.
Bonnarel, Fr.	Lesteven, S.
Chereul, E./Picard, S.	Monier, R.
Hameury, J.M.	Puget, J.L.
Hangouët, J.Y.	Simon, G.
1999-2004	
Arnaud, M.	Lançon, A.
Bauer, P.	Motch, Chr.
Bulot, S./Michel, L.	Omont, A.
Egret, D.	Schnell, Fr.
Freire Ferrero, R.	Siebert, A.
Halbwachs, J.L.	Woelfel, F.

The following alphabetical list is mentioning the term(s) next to each name, plus possible specificities.

- Acker, A. (1979-1982) (1991-1995)
- \bullet Arnaud, M. (1999-2004) (elected in Jan. 2000 as outsider)
- Baglin, A. (1987-1991) (elected in Jan. 1988 as outsider)

- Bartlett, J. (1995-1999)
- Bauer, P. (1999-2004)
- Becht, I. (1988-1991) (replacing Mischler from Sep. 1988 on)
- Blanchard, A. (1995-1999)
- Bonnarel, Fr. (1991-1995) (1995-1999)
- Bru, P. (1969-1971)
- Bruneau, Ch. (1979-1982) (1991-1995)
- Bulot, S. (1999-2000) (replaced in Dec. 2000 by Michel)
- Chereul, E. (1995-1997) (elected in Dec. 1995 as student)
- Collin-Souffrin, S. (1991-1995) (elected in Jan. 1992 as outsider)
- Delhaye, J. (1973-1976) (elected in Dec. 1973 as outsider) (1976-1979) (elected in Dec. 1976 as outsider) (1979-1982) (elected in Dec. 1979 as outsider) (1982-1986/7) (elected in Jan. 1983 as outsider)
- Didelon, P. (1987-1991) (elected in Feb. 1988 as student)
- Dubois, P. (1973-1976) (1982-1986/7) (1987-1991) (1991-1993) (replaced in Mar. 1993 by Motch)
- Egret, D. (1976-1979) (1987-1991) (replaced in May 1988 by Jasniewicz) (1991-1995) (1999-2004)
- Fehrenbach, Ch. (1971-1973) (elected in Jan. 1971 as outsider) (1973-1976) (elected in Dec. 1973 as outsider) (1976-1979) (elected in Dec. 1976 as outsider)

```
(1979-1982) (elected in Dec. 1979 as outsider)
(1982-1986/7) (elected in Jan. 1983 as outsider)
```

- Freire Ferrero, R. (1999-2004)
- Fresneau, A. (1976-1979) (1987-1988) (replaced in Mar. 1988 by Florsch)
- Halbwachs, J.L. (1982-1986/7) (1987-1991) (1991-1995) (1999-2004)
- Hameury, J.M. (1995-1999)
- Hamm, M. (1987-1990) (replaced in Apr. 1990 by Marcout)
- Hangouët, J.Y. (1995-1999)
- Hartley, J. (1987-1988) (replaced in Mar. 1988 by Mischler)
- Heck, A. (1987-1991)
- Huss, J. (1969-1971)
- Jaschek, C. (1976-1979) (1979-1982)
- Jaschek, M. (1982-1986/7) (1987-1991)
- Jasniewicz, G. (1988-1991) (replacing Egret from May 1988 on) (1991-1995) (1995-1999)

- Jung, J. (1971-1973) (1973-1976)
- Kovalevsky, J. (1987-1991) (elected in Jan. 1988 as outsider) (1991-1995) (elected in Jan. 1992 as outsider)
- Lacroute, P. (1969-1971) (1971-1973)
- Lançon, A. (1995-1999) (1999-2004)
- Leher, B. (1969-1971) (1971-1973) (1973-1976)
- Lejeune, Th. (1993-1995) (elected in Dec. 1993 as student)
- Lery, Th. (1991-1992) (elected in Dec. 1991 as student)
- Lesteven, S. (1992-1993) (elected in Dec. 1992 as student) (1995-1999)
- Marcout, J. (1982-1986/7) (1990-1991) (replacing Hamm from May 1990 on) (1991-1995)
- Michel, L. (2000-2004) (replacing Bulot from Dec. 2000 on)
- Mischler, V. (1988) (replacing Hartley from Mar. 1988 on) (replaced in Jun. 1988 by Becht)
- Monier, R. (1995-1999)
- Motch, Chr. (1993-1995) (replacing Dubois from Mar. 1993 on) (1999-2004)
- Ochsenbein, Fr. (1973-1976) (1979-1982) (1991-1995)

- Omont, A. (1999-2004) (elected in Jan. 2000 as outsider)
- Piquard, S. (1997-1999) (elected in Dec. 1997 as student)
- Puget, J.L. (1995-1999) (elected in Jan. 1996 as outsider)
- Schmitt, A. (1969-1971)
- Schnell, Fr. (1999-2004)
- Siebert, A. (1999-2004) (elected in Dec. 1999 as student)
- Simon, G. (1995-1999) (elected in Jan. 1996 as outsider)
- Traut, B. (1969-1971) (1971-1973) (1973-1976) (1976-1979) (1979-1982)
- Valbousquet, A. (1971-1973)
- Wagner, M.J. (1982-1986/7)
- Wenger, M. (1976-1979) (1987-1991)
- Woelfel, F. (1999-2004)